Ouran High School Host Club

screenshot_1_16866

So I finished Ouran High School Host Club. Wow, that was an experience to say the very least! I can definitely see why it’s such a fan favorite, though! I enjoyed how silly and self-aware it was while maintaining a smart script and heart!

There’s no way I can include or even attempt to explain how enjoyable and wonderful this show was, but I will give it a shot. (I wanted Death Note to be my first proper-length review on this blog, but this post was finished first. So here we are.)

ouran_host_club_6

Ouran High School Host Club |  2006 | 26 Episodes | TV14

The plot follows scholarship student Haruhi as she becomes beholden to Ouran Acedemy’s host club, falling into mishaps and adventures with the set of very unlikely friends. But what is the host club? In the words of the club’s leader, Tamaki:

“Only those with excellent social standing and those from filthy rich families are lucky enough to spend their time here at the élite private school Ouran Academy. The Ouran host Club is where the school’s handsomest boys with too much time on their hands entertain young ladies who also have way too much time on their hands. Just think of it as Ouran academy’s elegant playground for the super rich and beautiful.” 

To pay off her debt, Hahuri must pretend to be a boy to join the Host Club’s activities, the other member’s of the club keeping her secret.

tumblr_ly28zku4fA1r9jw7vo1_500How do I talk about such a ridiculous and hysterical show? Where do I even start? I guess I’ll start by saying this experience was absolutely bizarre.  At the same time, the show was filled with comedy gold. There were so many laugh out loud moments throughout the show’s run time. The comedy and animation combined was hysterical enough to get my anime-disliking sister into the show!

The Host Club and what they do was ridiculous to say the least! Hahuri’s embarrassed and baffled reactions to Tamaki and the club’s activities in each episode were exact iterations to how I as the audience felt. I really liked that about OHSHC; it was very self-aware. And that’s why it works!

daa708644dd97ca203ec84e6107b1007

I loved just about everything in the show, even if it took me several episodes to get fully invested.

My favorite character became Host Club King, Tamaki, because he was SO dramatic, gentlemanly, genuine, and EMOTIONAL. His reactions to things were very over-the-top and absolutely hysterical, especially as his feelings for Hahuri manifested. To me, there was something familiar about him that I really treasured when he was on screen. One day, I suddenly realized he was a dramatic version of the Myers-Briggs personality type, ENFP, which is my personality! So.,Tamaki is the over dramatic, male version of me. It explains why I connected and understood him so much. He’s still my favorite character!

dd794bbbb8d3f21730ee8ca84aeecc5fOf course, all the characters are fantastic, each of them receiving enough character development to make me care about them. Kyoya is another favorite of mine because he was the polar opposite of Tamaki, and so the characters worked very well together. The twins were a bit much at first, as they exuded a “incest” vibe, but that panned out well in the end. Cute Honey-Senpai and his cousin Mori-Senpai were adorable together. And Hahuri was sensible and smart, which made her very likable. Overall, OHSHC’s cast was great.

screenshot_1_6934

Overall, Ouran High School Host Club is a classic and definitely stands up well to all the praise it gets! Well worth the watch!

Final Rating:

Star Value: 5/5 Re-Watchability: High | Definition: The Harem Classic

~Jamie

4 Comments Add yours

  1. arriacross says:

    Indeed, it’s a shoujo and gyaku harem must-watch. Have you read the manga? The story continues further than where the anime left off.

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      No, I haven’t read the manga, but that would so neat to continue the story! I’ll have to see if my library has it!!

      ~Jamie

      Like

    2. arriacross says:

      Enjoy reading it. It’s a happy ending with a great prologue. Have a great holiday season. Cheers!

      Like

    3. Jamie says:

      Yes, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you too! 🙂

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

