Rolling☆Girls || A Mini Review

The-Rolling-Girls-Ep-4-Img-00141

I had high hopes for Rolling☆Girls at the beginning of the Winter Season… those first two episodes really were amazing. So, it is with disappoint that I must say that Rolling☆Girls’s plot completely unraveled for most of the show, leaving me baffled and frustrated. It was, however, very pretty to look at (see gallery below.)

Rolling☆Girls

Adventure | Slice-ofLife | Superpowers | Shojou

Winter 2015 | 12 Episodes | PG-13

Ten years after the Great Tokyo War, Japan has split into independent nations. Each nation is ruled by a “Best” and with “Rests” who work under them as they start to compete to take over other countries. Four “Rests” girls, Nozomi, Yukina, Ai, and Chiaya, are ordered by their “Best” to motorcycle around Japan to mediate quarrels between nations and clans as they emerge.

This is basically the setup of the first two episodes.

my favorite of the girls
my favorite of the girls Chiaya

Honestly, there isn’t much to discuss, that’s why this is a mini review. So, cons first.

The plot took a nose dive several episodes in. As soon as the girls hit the road, the plot slowly fell apart. It began to literally make zero sense. I couldn’t follow the different story plots at all. It’s not like it was complicated or anything…it’s just the different plots made no sense! It was really disappointing when a such a pretty show didn’t have better writing and direction. (Thankfully the last couple of episodes did make some sense.)

tumblr_nlxpuwhs161qfr27po1_500

Pros: Rolling☆Girls was gorgeous. The animated fights in the beginning were stunning. I adored the character designs and outfits to death. At first the water colored backgrounds felt weird to me but they eventually grew on me. Everything was just gorgeous! Sadly, the beautiful colors and motion couldn’t save Rolling☆Girls from it’s bad plotting. However, it is one of the prettiest pieces of animation I’ve seen to date.

Below is a gallery of screen caps that I’m personally using as my laptop’s slideshow desktop background! Flip through them and drool at the colors!

tumblr_nlekwcDWOY1qdpo2no1_500

Overall, Rolling☆Girls was a big disappointment, especially since it started off as one of my must-sees at the beginning of the season. I do value the animation and the sweet characters (and the intro was fun.) Sadly, the poor direction and plot structure hurts it more than the animation can save it.

Final Rating:

Star Value: 3/5 | Re-Watchabiliity: LowDefinition: Lacking Plot…but Really Pretty

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~Jamie

*screen caps via AngryAnimeBitches

5 Comments Add yours

  1. WOW! You found some truly amazing gifs from this visually stunning series! Too bad the plot was utterly nonsensical. 😦 And the photo gallery is cool. 🙂

    -James

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you, Tumblr had some wonderful ones–I wonder if I reblogged any of them? Yeah, the whole plot situation is a near tradgy in my opinion. 😦 Thank you, I’m so happy I figured out how to make it! 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!!!

      ~Jamie

      Like

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

