I went to the Phx Comic Con and bought anime stuff

Going to my home city’s comic-con is one of the biggest highlights of my year, along with my birthday and Christmas. I was so excited for this year’s especially, because I was ready to shop ANIME. Outside of one little anime store in a nearby mall, I have no opportunity to physically shop anime merchandise. Zero. AND I LOVE PHYSICALLY SHOPPING FOR STUFF. To say I was hyped is an understatement.

I went on the first day only, Thursday; I got in for fifteen dollars, as I bought my ticket in January–I thought February, but my ticket said January!–when it was on sale. I had a pocket full of money and my sights set on the vendor hall only. I’ve yet to enter a single panel at any comic con convention that I’ve attended. I am there to shop! XD

I didn’t take any pictures of cosplayers, but I did see a very accurate cosplay of SAO’s Kirito and Asuna and someone as Nui Harime from Kill la Kill!

The main thing I went to find were posters. Anime posters. I’m a poster junkie and I desperately wanted to find a Kuroko’s Basketball and Free! poster.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was on my feet from 4:30 PM to 9:15 PM and only sat down twice in that space of time–once to eat dinner and once to throw on my sandals so my feet would feel comfortable–it turned out that the shoes I wore were too small for big walks, and I’m still limping. XD. Other than that, I was constantly moving or standing throughout the vendor hall as there was SO MANY VENDORS to look at! It took me most of the night to see everything just once–besides anime there was Harry Potter to browse, Marvel, Adventure Time, and a few other loves like that.

To cut to the chase: all my walking was worth it! Here are the spoils of the night after an evening of pricing and browsing (you would not believe how little Free! and Kuroko’s Basketball merchandise I saw. I got scared half way through that I wasn’t going to find what I wanted…) 

IMG_3616This one vendor had paper posters galore and I about fainted from excitement–anime paper posters are very rare from my experience so I was very relieved that they were there. I bought two 11X16 inch posters, as seen above–the deal was two for $10 (or one for $8…of course I bought two, am I stupid?) I had to get the Fate/Zero poster, because I love all these characters, especially Lancer, Saber, and Rider. I looked and looked and finally chose for my second poster Kise from Kuroko’s Basketball, because he’s an enjoyable character and looks just like one of my own fictional characters–nice smile, tall, and blond.

I have the Faze/Zero poster up right besides my desk beneath my whiteboard–Archer stares right at me. XD Kise now hangs beside my wall mirror and is very handsome. 🙂

IMG_3634

I was so excited to find Free! posters at the same table. They were sizes 13X22 inches–smaller than I’m used to, but large enough! There were a few versions; I settled on the boys by the pool side with sunflowers–it was an image I’d never seen on the internet, and everyone seemed in character. Haru looks like Haru, Nagisa looks like Nagisa, Makoto looks like Makoto…I hate it when characters seem out of character in merchandise, so this was a big plus. I now have this poster on the back of my door–it’s perfect when I shut it for the night.

AND I BOUGHT MY FIRST WALL SCROLL. AND IT’S FOR KUROKO’S BASKETBALL. AND I’M SUCH A HAPPY CAMPER.

I spotted it behind the booth and I knew immediately: “That’s what I want on my wall.” I didn’t even think about it and it was the best pick of the night. It is easily the largest piece of anime merchandise I now own, and its worth is probably only surpassed by the DVD set of Princess Jellyfish that I own. While I wanted something with Team Seirin on it, as long as Kagami and Kuroko were there, I was happy–plus the Generation of Miracles are so colorful! It’s 24X35 inches and stunning.

IMG_3615

I’ve been very hesitant about owning a wall scroll, as it sounds so much more intimidating than “poster”… but the install was very easy–a couple of thumb tacks at the top and some of the sticky blue stuff on the bottom bar to keep the fan from blowing it around… I don’t know why I thought it would be harder to handle than a poster. XD It’s also perfect for picture-taking, because the fabric doesn’t give off a glare like paper does…

(You can see I tried my Free! poster underneath my Mickey Mouse poster–that didn’t work. XD )

I’m so happy to have anime posters on my wall. I’m so happy to have Kuroko and Kagami near my bedside. I’m so happy I watched Free! before comic con so I could buy their poster. I’m so happy comic-con was a complete success!

What’s one of the best things you ever bought at a comic-con? Do you have a wall scroll? If you’ve been to both comic and anime cons–which are better? Do the anime conventions carry more anime merchandise besides Naruto and Bleach?!

~Jamie

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Congrats on the wall scroll!! I have two, SAO and a Madoka Magica 2nd Movie scroll. And there’s that awesome Fate/Zero poster as well as Free! – you got them hooray! Sounds like a blast ~

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you, I’m so excited to have it! Oooh, Madoka Magica! Great choices for a wall scroll selection!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marina says:

    Looks like you had a fabulous time at Comic-Con! I have yet to ever go to one, though we do have one here: Emerald City Comic-Con. I’ve only gone to Anime Expo and Sakura-Con. The Dealer’s Hall used to be my favorite thing about conventions, but I’ve quickly migrated over to spending most of my time in panels listening to industry guests and voice actors.

    Anyways, awesome posters! Love the Fate/Zero poster most since Rider is probably my favorite Servant.

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Oooh, those cons sound awesome! One of these days I’ll have to pick a panel that sounds interesting to me. I think I would enjoy it if my con would invite guests who I was interested in. XD

      YES! RIDER IS EPIC. He had such a great sense of humor and was so stoic! ❤ *high fives for appreciating Rider!*

      ~Jamie

      Like

  3. ladyelasa says:

    Cons are so fun! I’ve been to MomoCon, DragonCon, and JapanCon. Those posters are awesome! Unlike a lot of events where stuff is jacked up in price, you can find some really sweet deals at conventions. I’ve bought so many cool things from conventions it’s hard to decide … I love my Zelda Twilight Princess post and my wolf tail a lot. ^ ^ And autographs. 😉

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Wow so many different cons! Oooh you have a wolf tail, that’s so awesome! I would like one someday, but I’m not sure what I would do with it. XD

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

    2. ladyelasa says:

      I know other people who have been to more. These are just local ones lol. I keep it in my room and I used it as a cosplay of one of my book characters. ^ ^

      Like

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

