One Year Of Anime!

Exactly one year ago, I watched a Studio Ghibli film and fell in love with anime. I’m so glad I keep a film diary, otherwise I would not even be aware of this wonderful anniversary! 😀 I’m so excited about this milestone…for so many reasons which can’t fit into one post. So, to celebrate during the upcoming two weeks, I’m going to write special posts about me and anime! I have at least five posts planned, with my post series “A Weekend Flick” and “Tuesday Tunes” to join in the celebration as well! I hope you’ll celebrate with me too, like these cuties! XD

celebrating

Today’s post is a look back on my journey into anime, a sappy, fun, chronological look at the last year or so of my life.

In July of 2013, in less than four days, I marathoned Death Note with the English dub. “But wait, Jamie, that’s two years ago, not one!” Very true. How on earth did I watch Death Note and not get hooked?! Death Note was strange, the animation was different but beautiful, and the story dark and mature: I couldn’t gobble it down fast enough! It was a thrilling marathon, I can tell you that much!

a75173ffc33a637d1bcd07981e721087

But then it ended and I didn’t watch another piece of anime for a year–for several reasons. The animation style was very different for me. The Japanese culture was strange and foreign. I was not at ALL interested in watching anything with subtitles. I remember the characters rarely blinked their large eyes, which unnerved me a tad. I made the list long. XD

My best friend–you know him as James the Reviewer–having been hooked by Death Note at the same time, blogged a lot of anime reviews after that….and I sat for a whole year and read them as a good friend does, seeing gifs of Fate/Zero and Psycho-Pass and Welcome to the NHK as time passed.

fate_zero

2013 into 2014 is actually quite important to my story, because over that period of time I slowly got comfortable to the art style–my biggest put-off. The huge eyes got less and less foreign and the Japanese culture became less weird-ish. James’ blog kept me consistently exposed to medium…

It was Studio Ghibli which broke me, the wonderful Disney dubbing with familiar actors being perfect for a newbie. In June of 2014, James bugged me to borrow Whisper of the Heart until I finally put it in my Netflix queue. It was being shipped to me when I saw a DVD copy of The Secret Life of Arrietty at the library… and out of an impulse, I grabbed it. On June 12th, alone in my room during a hot afternoon, I watched it on my laptop.

f8910bcc55d914e6035dde6a9c434e08

Simply put–Arrietty WOWed me. I watched Whisper of the Heart as soon as it arrived and I bawled my eyes out from happiness; the seal-the-deal film was the “new at the time” masterpiece, The Wind Rises. I cried through that too and marveled: “Anime is amazing!”

For the rest of the summer, I combed my library for anime films and began eating my way through them. I was very lucky to have James throwing suggestions at me because I would have missed some great films. This is how I saw Paprika and Perfect Blue as a new born. I WATCHED SATOSHI KON MOVIES AS AN ANIME BEGINNER AND I REALLY LIKED THEM. I only know now that this is a little unusual for a female fan to get started in anime. But hey, I’ve always loved mind benders and thrillers, so it really was a good fit.

And I actually guessed the culprit of Perfect Blue. I felt very smart after that. 😛 (Of the strange movies I first watched, Spirited Away honestly weirded me out the most… XD )

strange anime

This was right before my 20th birthday–so I bought myself many Studio Ghibli movies as birthday presents–they are some of my most prized possessions.

When I had exhausted my library, I turned to Netflix. I rewatched Death Note, and then Psycho-Pass and Ouran High School Host Club and Fate/Zero and Welcome the NHK. I watched Princess Jellyfish on a whim…and it remains my favorite anime series to this day.

In the fall, I dabbled hesitantly with subbed shows until the 2014 comedy Gugure! Kokkuri-san broke my prejudice–the dialogue was so hysterical because of the subtitles, which really helped me adjust to reading and watching at the same time. Nowadays I eat subs for breakfast–though I still prefer my action shows in English, so I can completely soak in the motion.

tumblr_nglnt3RkbW1qmlmyuo1_500

Thanks to Kokkuri-san, Kohina, and all the ridiculous comedy that happened each week during the fall, I adapted seasonal (week-to-week) viewing, which I still do today!

During the last months of 2014, I needed to a place to write anime, as my original blog just wouldn’t work… I made the hefty decision to create a second blog and jumped into aniblogging with Jamie Talks Anime. Through the Winter 2015 season, I began blogging my opinions and reviews and then my own blog series on anime films and anime soundtracks!

Currently, I have written over 60 posts, gained 32 special followers, read 112 wonderful comments, and gained over 2500 page views! Not bad for being the new kid on the block! ❤

jamie talks anime

I want to say thank you to James here, too, as he’s been an awesome mentor the past year; he’s explained the Japanese culture and language to me before I could even be confused. I had and still have a large advantage of getting a more experienced viewer for a guide on what could be a difficult, dangerous slope to climb. This is why I often refer to James as Sensei here on my blog, because he really is my Otaku “teacher”. podcast with him. How many “first years” can say they get to do that!?

I feel very lucky!

It’s funny looking back at a year of my life and seeing myself in time. Somehow I managed to do all this while seeing through the end of my parent’s bloody divorce, and studying for, then passing three different parts of my GED test!

And I’m such a rookie, even now. I still have so much to learn about the culture, and so many big name anime to watch, and manga to sample–I can’t wait to look back at this post in a year and laugh “HA. Beginner. What did you even know.” 😀

tumblr_mkjd3hbkgH1qbv807o5_500

So, this is an anniversary worth celebrating to me! Have a slice of cake, because today is a happy day! And keep your eyes peeled for more celebratory posts!

So what about you, my wonderful readers? What was your first year of anime (or manga, or otaku life in general) like for you? What got you into anime? Did you grow up with Sailor Moon or Pokemon or Ghibli? Did you discover it as a teenager or as a young adult, like myself? What’s an early anime (or manga) that you read that remains a favorite to this day? I’d love to hear all about it!

~Jamie

15 Comments Add yours

  1. I grew up watching Pokemon. I remember racing home from school so I could find out what had happened to Ash that day. My brother loved Digimon. However, I fell in love with anime properly by watching Ouran High School Host Club 🙂 Fab post – look forward to reading your upcoming posts 🙂

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Aw, that’s adorable! Pokemon has touched so many lives, I need to familiarize myself with it more!

      OURAN! Ouran is the best ever–I laughed so hard! I have a sibling who couldn’t care less about anime, but got a huge kick out of Ouran! 😀

      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. No problem 🙂 I got to see Vic Mignogna at a recent comic con where he embarrassed one of the staff where he made them act out the drink it from my mouth scene lol! :-p He was amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Jamie says:

      OMG ROFL I would be so embarrassed! 8-D

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Arria Cross says:

    Congratulations! Your enjoyment of anime really comes through this post. I hope that you enjoy watching more anime and to keep on blogging about it.
    As for me, I don’t really remember my first year since I was already watching anime as a kid. I don’t even remember the first anime I watched. It’s a feeling similar to not remembering the moment you were born. Anyway, good post. Keep it up. Cheers!

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you! I’m looking forward to my next year of being engaged with the industry and all the wonderful stories that come out of it!

      Wow, that’s awesome in it’s own way!!!! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This satisfaction of turning you into an anime fan makes me feel like Light when his plan comes together. XD

    -James

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      ROFL. XD XD XD

      ~Jamie

      Like

  4. Wow, that was such a touching reflection – Congrats!! The first year is always one of the bests in my book, and it’s nice to see that you journaled it all down. I myself only remember the season and year I watched my first shows. I wish I wrote down dates! And Arrietty is one of my favorites, I could just watch Ghibli films over and over and never get sick of them. Fate/Zero is also a masterpiece by me, but I didn’t watch it at the beginning of my anime travels, so to speak. Having an online and IRL Sensei figure is so awesome – I wish I had a teacher!! I’ve never seen Death Note, and I’m not quite sure why, but if you thought it was good way back when then it ought to be worth the time. I’m rambling; congrats on one year of anime greatness and here’s to more to come! *clinks Gilgamesh’s golden goblets in toast style* Haha, can’t wait to read the rest of the celebration! 😀

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you so much!!!! 🙂

      Glad to hear you like Arrietty (it seems underrated sometimes,) I’m reviewing it tomorrow as part of the celebration! ❤ Yes, Fate/Zero was SO. GOOD. *inner gasp* You must watch Death Note, the first 25 episodes is a masterpiece of suspense!! While it falters a little during the final half, the ending was very satisfying, so it's worth watch! Be prepared to marathon, it's hard to stop it once you get going. XD

      *Clinks back* Haha! Thank you very much for celebrating with me!!

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ladyelasa says:

    So exciting! Studio Ghibli is good to start out with. I got into anime as a teenager. I think I was fifteen or sixteen and my first anime was Shugo Chara then my second was Wolf’s Rain. Big shift in genre. XD Wolf’s Rain is still a favorite. I need to rewatch it. ^ ^

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      LOL wow that is a big shift in genre! 😛 You got started in anime a lot sooner than I, that’s great! I wish more people were exposed to it early when they are so closed minded. 🙂 I need to see Wolf’s Rain! I’ve heard good things about it! 😀

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

    2. ladyelasa says:

      Haha! You do! It has a weird ending, but it’s really good! Another thing I need to rewatch. XD

      Like

  6. Cari says:

    My answer will be really long, I should do a blog post about it. Hahaha.
    I was raised in Colombia, in a time before Sailor moon, when i was about 7 in Colombia there was back to back anime series on weekdays afternoons. I saw a marvelous story called Cuore, Based on an italian classic about a boy. That series is so hard to get nowadays and it has a ghibli atmosphere. Then I watched the adventures of tom sawyer, heidi, speed racer reruns and others anime series (old ones, the orphan bee that cried in every episode, anyone?). when I was in middle school, Candy was all girls could talk during lunch breaks, in high school was Sailor moon, also dragon ball but I didn’t like it that much. hahaha. when I got into college I watch some Ranma 1/2 episodes. After that I moved to USA, when I got into buying things on ebay, the first things I bought were a complete set of classic ghibli movies from japan, and the complete series of ranma 1/2.

    Ranma is really my favorite of all, because it has everything action, comedy, some drama, romance. I have not fell into the pokemon fever, I saw a few yugioh episodes (imho I don’t like english dub voices they feel a little overacted sometimes), prefer spanish dubs or subtitles.
    few years ago I resume my series watch list and discovered the gems of Death note, Evangelion, also watched soul eater, rosario vampire, noir, hayate, chobits, video girl Ai, welcome to the NHK, Romeo+Juliet, maid sama, Claymore, among others.

    I really recommend to watch Fruits basket, Tokyo Magnitude 8.0, Usagi drop, Antique bakery, Mononoke (medicine seller, anyone?), IMHO they are really must watch of their own styles.

    Ghibli movies, my favorite is castle in the sky. Totoro is so cute! I have totoro stuff too 🙂
    Kiki DS is so great, I love the cat. Arrietty is a visual treat, I really love it. and I cried and got depressed with … did you guess? Grave of the Fireflies. The only ghibli movie I don’t like with passion is porco rosso, the pig head disturbs me and i don’t get to enjoy it. pom poko is fun to watch.

    Ok, I will leave it there. hope you can get some titles from this list. Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

