7 Letters to Characters From My First Year In Anime

Characters are one of the most important elements of any type of story–quite possible the most important element period. Today I’m sharing several characters who were influential during my first year of anime. They either made me laugh, or I connected to them, or they were just memorable characters. I’ve written them each a short letter, too, because I’m feeling sentimental. ❤

They are listed in random order, as I would be hard pressed to pick my most favorite anime character. XD

Kuranosuke from Princess Jellyfish
tumblr_mpfw9uKFsH1rddxr0o5_500

Kuranosuke’s such a character in Princess Jellyfish–the perfect guy to be throw into the midst of a close-knit, socially inept, men-despising women. Kuranosuke uses crossdressing to seperate himself from his political family, and those clothes let him near the awkward Tsukimi with hysterical effect. Kuranosuke is one of the funniest and most enjoyable characters I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching. His zest for life, confidence, and absolute flawless girl power never wears thin on the Princess Jellyfish marathons! Also his crush on Tsukimi is basically the most adorable thing ever.

Dear Kuranosuke. You’re the glowing symbol of confidence to me. I look at you and see a guy unafraid of what people think of you, which makes me want to be just as confident and bold in myself. I must go read the rest of your manga someday to read the end of your story!


Akane from Psycho-Pass
tumblr_mpjlo3KkUX1rcjo9to1_500

Akane was a great lead character for the sci-fi show, Psycho-Pass. She was easy to get behind and cheer for! I love how she worked around and with the Sibyl System, not blindly following orders but doing what she felt was right. I loved how smart her character was. I loved how dimensional she was as a person, and how she made mistakes and had to face them. Plus, she’s downright gorgeous in her own way!

Dear Akane. To me, you’re a woman of strength and smarts. I love how you believed in your own potential and took chances by following your gut. I love how wise you are, and I love how you look at the people around you.

Ryuk from Death Note

giphy

Ryuk might have been my first favorite anime character ever, Death Note being my first anime. While I liked L and guiltily cheered on Light, Ryuk was the easiest character to enjoy because he was tired of being bored and he was funny and somehow endearing….even with that face…?! I loved how he trailed Light around to see what he would do next or begged for apples to eat or laughed when a new plot twist happened. Ryuk was fitting comic relief for such an intense story and I got a kick out of him!

Dear Ryuk. I love how scary you look and how not scary you can be…for a shinigami. I love your view on humans and power, and I love your love for apples. You make me want to eat apples all the time.

Tsukimi from Princess Jellyfishtumblr_mdpnamNVEx1rukqfxo1_500

Yes, surprise! Two characters from the same anime–but it is my favorite anime, so this isn’t a surprise after all. I have to include the awkward, jellyfish loving dork Tsukimi on this list because she and Kuranosuke are such a fun duo. Tsukimi thought she’d grow up into a beautiful princess, but loosing someone important early in her life and becoming socially stunted made her anything but. Despite all that, Tsukimi is a sweet girl with artistic gifts and a reflective soul on the society around her. I especially love Tsukimi’s character because she was never once annoying…and her character could easily be annoying. Instead she’s only relatable and adorable and cute in her own way!

Dear Tsukimi. I can easily relate to you and your frustration with society’s expectations of beauty and the struggles of growing up. I love your passions and I love how you let Kuranosuke pull your potential out of your shell! Thank you for loving jellyfish so much, because now I love them too!

Satou from Welcome to the NHK

tumblr_n0wu31hhCw1snn0hpo1_500

Firstly: Be warned, big fat looser present in the form of Sauto. Secondly: PERVERT! HENTAI! Thirdly: Somehow Satou is ridiculously easy to understand, sympathize with, and feel for…. somehow I get Satou?! I think it’s because, deep down, we are all human. We are all the same… it’s just that most of us make better choices in life so we don’t end up as a socially withdrawn, depressed, unable-to-function-in-society creep like Satou does. However, what’s so relatable about Satou is how, every once and awhile, he really tries to change…before miserably failing. There is something so real about that. Either way, I loved Welcome to the NHK a lot and I’ve yet to forget Satou’s character.

Dear Satou. While your fantasies are hentai which grosses me out, I sympathize with you as a fellow human, and I can weirdly relate to you on several levels. I love how hard you try, even though you often fall again, but harder. Also you are one sarcastic mother****** and you made me laugh too much.

Kuroko from Kuroko’s Basketball

Kuroko-gifs-kuroko-tetsuya-32177535-500-285

Kuroko’s not quite my top favorite character of his show, but he is up there with favorite characters in general. In a world of superhuman-like basketball players, Kuroko, though he has his gifts, is very much the underdog, and he joins an underdog team. First, I LOVE CHEERING FOR UNDERDOGS. But then, secondly, Kuroko decides that he doesn’t want to just push his teammate Kagami forward: He wants to become a better, more powerful player himself! This is why I love Kuroko so much, because he determines to better himself in what he loves to do–that really stuck out to me. Also he’s adorable, how can I not like him anyway?

Dear Kuroko. I love that you never give up. I love that you want to make your teammates better! I love that you also work on yourself so you have more to give. I love how you love basketball! (….and do a girl a solid by giving my number to Kagami, pretty, pretty please and thank you!)

Totoro from My Neighbor Totorotumblr_mx78g2uAUl1qhd8sao1_500

So, I had a hard time trying to choose someone from the Studio Ghibli films to put here. I could’ve picked Shizuku from Whisper of the Heart, or Ponyo, or Porco Rosso, or the sisters from My Neighbor Totoro. But I decided to go with the clichést and most wonderful character of them all, Totoro himself. Totoro wasn’t actually in his film that much, but he is memorable and adorable and at Fan Fest past winter I bought a large stuffed animal of him. He represents Ghibli in general for me, and that’s perfect.

Dear Totoro. Thank you for existing. The world always needs magic like you.

Kohina from Gugure! Kokkuri-san

tumblr_npkyz4UFSZ1spgr4yo1_500Heheheheh oh, this deliciously evil child…who is adorable and needs love and is mothered by a male fox spirit! Gugure! Kokkuri-san’s hysterical character Kohina helped me engage in the subtitle world of anime. Kohina’s dry expressions and emotionless voice is still very vivid in my head. I also love her quirks for cup noodles and being in love with a strange schoolboy and believing she’s a doll. She and Kokkuri-san are two of the more influential anime characters of my first year because their comedy was just too on point!

Dear Kohina. I’m so happy you finally got a family of your own, even though they were all spirits and one was a stalker and the other a drunk. You are a smart girl who doesn’t take crap, I love how you relish artificial flavors, and you made me laugh so hard I lost my breath.

I better stop here, otherwise I will be including Kokkuri-san and Kagami and someone from Fate/Zero and you will lose interest around the 25th entry. But seriously, I love these characters so much! Which of these shows have you seen?

~Jamie

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Psycho-Pass’s Akane is one of my favorite lead characters. As you mentioned, she’s really smart about worldly matters but also follows her beliefs rather than submitting to the system. Her drive to be the change in the world is inspiring and wicked awesome! Thanks for sharing the letters, too. Totoro is the magic, haha!!

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      YES! More reasons why Akane is awesome! I find her very inspiring as a female character! I was glad to see more of her in PP2, even though that season wasn’t as good as the first. 😀

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Real quick, do you recommend the sequel to those who are satisfied with the first? I mean, I would die to see more, but if things are ruined then I’ll pass. What do you think?

      Like

    3. Jamie says:

      This is a tricky question, because I’m in the minority who enjoyed the second season even though it wasn’t as good. Most people I know were really disappointed, but I was happy just to have more Akane and more denominators and just more of that world. It certainly wasn’t as good, but I didn’t think it was TERRIBLE. It didn’t ruin the original series for me personally. But like I said, I’m in the minority here. I would probably only recommend watching the second season if you just really really really want more of that world in general. Hope this helps!

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

    4. Thank you very much. I might give it a try!

      Like

    5. Jamie says:

      Oh good! I hope you do end up enjoying it, at least for what it is! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love Princess Jellyfish – even have the jellyfish toy from the series. Has the best theme song too. Also love Welcome to the NHK 🙂 Have you watched Sacred Blacksmith yet? That is fantastic too.

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Omg I want the jellyfish toy! AND YES. Best theme song, ever! I love all references in that opening too, so clever! I have not seen Sacred Blacksmith! Thank you for recommending it, I’ll go save it on my list! 😀

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

    2. No problem 🙂 kids on the slope, chobits and rosen maiden are fab too!

      Like

    3. Jamie says:

      Oooh, I’ve heard Kids on the Slope is a amazing! And I love music anime, too, so that should be a match made in heaven when I do get around to it XD

      Liked by 1 person

    4. Sounds like it. Let me know what you think. 🙂

      Like

  3. ladyelasa says:

    This is such a sweet list! ^ ^ I love Totoro. And I tried Psycho-Pass a while back but I didn’t get into it. I think I’ll give it another shot. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you! YES give Psycho-Pass another shot, it is one of my favorites! Such great characters and plot! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

