Leapt Through Time || Tuesday Tunes

tumblr_nnq6lyHw0y1tx231io9_500

I like to do this: review a movie and then discuss its soundtrack on the next round of Tuesday Tunes. The OST for The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is full of beautiful piano work and strings. It’s a seemingly simple original score, but sometimes less is more. Its music is full of emotion and beauty and I can’t wait to share a few of its tracks today.

Track 11: Kawaranai Mono: This is a very peaceful, soothing track. Slow strings, the occasional sound of a harp. I could play this before bed and go right to see after watching a horror film; it’s just that relaxing!

Track 02: Sketch: This one is definitely more lively! This is a track I noticed most while watching the film as it works perfectly with our playful thoughtless lead character and her life. I love pizzicato because it’s so full of character and life, which you can definitely hear in this piece.

Track 12: Natsuzora: This is the other most memorable track from the film for me. I love the piano part and the electronic sounds that work with the violin. It beautifully builds up with a note of hopefulness and wanting before quietly ending. I love it!

Need more awesome anime music? Listen to past Tuesday Tunes highlights here on the YouTube playlist.

~Jamie

9 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyelasa says:

    These pieces are so pretty! The third one is my favorite as well. It’s such a beautiful sound. ^ ^ I really need to see this movie. XD I just watched Wolf Children last night.

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      I know, I love that third song! So pretty!!

      OMG WHAT DID YOU THINK OF WOLF CHILDREN?! I LOVE THAT MOVIE SO MUCH. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    2. ladyelasa says:

      Hee hee. Hana’s sacrifices for her kids was really touching. She was so devoted. Ame and Yuki’s wolf powers were really cool. That movie pulls at the emotions so much. XD

      Like

    3. Jamie says:

      Yes! Exactly! Hana is my favorite anime mom because she was very relatable and human like–yet very “mom power” at the same time. I love the animation and music in that movie too–so beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

    4. ladyelasa says:

      She was indeed! Watching the years go by with Hana struggles was just so so powerful. It was more than just Hana and her Wolf Children. It spoke of other single moms as well or moms in general and the sacrifices they make for their children.

      Like

    5. Jamie says:

      Yes–motherhood and its sacrifices was captured so beautifully!!! I wrote about Wolf Children for Mother’s Day in May because Hana is not just a great mom but she was also presented as a relatable human being, which I loved! Here’s the link if you’d like to read it! 😀

      I’m so glad you enjoyed Wolf Children!!! ❤

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

    6. ladyelasa says:

      Cool! I’ll check it out!

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the great tracks from an awesome film! The third one in particular was a surprise, as I didn’t remember it from the movie. But that’s how it is sometimes, you know? When you sit down and actually listen to an OST, you notice some hidden brilliance that you missed when you just were watching the visuals. Sound is key for more than just anime, and I was glad to sit down and be reminded of the feels. (The second one was just like her personality! You’re right! So much fun~)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Yay! I’m so glad you enjoyed the music–it’s so powerful on its own! I agree, I love listening anime OSTs on their own, as I often notice brilliant themes or pieces that I didn’t notice during the actual show (prime example being Assassination Classroom, which underused it’s amazing score because I didn’t really “hear” any of it till it was on its own.)

      I can so feel those “Leapt Through TIme” feels with you! This movie was so good, and the music really added some emotional depth! I already want to rewatch the movie!!

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

