What Anime Taught Me In One Year

This is my last post dedicated to celebrating my first year of anime. I’ve had a wonderful time reflecting and sharing how anime has touched me the past couple weeks–thank you to all you who celebrated with me! I loved reading all your comments on Facebook, Google+, and right here on the blog!anime

Today I’m sharing three things anime has taught me the past twelve months. While I love anime primarily for its storytelling and characters and animation, it has also expanded my mind in other ways too, for which I’m very thankful.

Anime taught me to think on a global scale.

My view of Earth grew when I began to understand the Japanese culture and bits of the language.  Looking back on my mindset a year ago, I had a much smaller idea of life and people and cultures in general. Anime taught me to be more aware of others outside of my own culture and country–that they were just as real as my own at the exact same time. The world seems so much more tangible and wide now… and even less strange!

anime world

Anime taught me that there IS a big difference among the Asian cultures.

Growing up as a naïve American with small exposure to the eastern cultures, the Japanese, Chinese, and Koreans were a jumble of cultures to me: I was so ignorant that their languages and appearances diminished them into merely “the Asian people” in my head, which is awful.

Watching anime exposed the Japanese culture, etiquette, and language unique to their nation, which taught me that these cultures are so different from each other! I got very excited one day when I realized I could distinguish between the Japanese and Chinese languages by how they sounded, which I could never do before–just, wow! I’m thankfully to be less ignorant on that part of the globe and invested in a country other than my own.

tumblr_mvea9iVsbk1src1c6o1_500

Anime taught me that stories are universal.

I mentioned this in my other post earlier, but it really is amazing how stories and characters created in a different culture and language can translate and connect with someone on the other side of the world. I mean, I’ve always known stories and characters are powerful parts of life, but not on such an immediate, global scale! I’m very grateful to have the heroes of anime impact my life, and therefore am grateful to the writers and creators in Japan who have captured humanity so well. We really aren’t that different when we get to our core desires and needs as people, which is an amazing thought to cherish.

large (2)

I’ve liked to think that I’m an open-minded person, but anime has really given my mindset a new dimension for thinking.

I feel more aware of the impact cultures can have on each other. I feel a little more educated and cultured when it comes to acknowledging the differences in Eastern cultures. I’m excited to know words and sentences of another language, making it more tangible and real. I’m very thankful for anime being a doorway for broadening my mind. So, that’s what anime has taught me in one year!

What is something important that anime has taught you?

~Jamie

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Arria Cross says:

    Well done. Indeed, anime teaches us many things, if we just take the time to understand them. If these are the things you learned this past year, imagine what you’ll learn on the next year or maybe a decade from now. I hope that you continue watching anime and blogging about it. Cheers!

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you! Yes, I can’t image how much my knowledge will be by next year alone! It’s a very exciting thought! 🙂 Thank you for your sweet comment!

      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Arria Cross says:

      You’re welcome. Continue enjoying anime for many years to come. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ladyelasa says:

    Yes, yes! Totally agree with these. I’ve definitely been more exposed to Asian culture since watching anime. Watching BBC has let me on the British culture as well. It’s cool how these shows help connect us to different parts of the world. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Yes, I’ve had a similar experience with BBC too! I love the power of media like that!!

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

