Anime Q&A || Sunshine Award

Screenshot (11350)

A big thank you to the author of Dang-Tran Dynasty for awarding me the Sunshine Award with anime questions to answer! I loved getting tagged with anime questions, so this will be fun to do!

Questions first!

What aspects of anime do you enjoy that other forms of storytelling lack? Anime can deliver mature stories and stronger emotional connections when other storytelling forms more often fail than succeed. I discuss this in detail in this post.

Do you believe that the quality of anime is declining? Well, I’m still pretty new to anime (I have a lot of classics to watch like Trigun, Code Geass, Steins;Gate, Cowboy Bepop, ect) but I have watched the past several seasons of anime and found some absolute gems in the mix. Death Parade, Parasyte, Kekkai Sensen, Ore Mongatari, Hibike! Euphonium, and Food Wars have been absolutely top-notch, so I have few complaints when it comes to quality story-telling, characters, and animation.

Screenshot (10324)What is your favorite character archetype, and why? The cool guy with a secret soft heart–I’m not sure what you would call that archetype though. I love it when appearances give us one expectation but the character turns out to be more vulnerable than originally expected.

Do you own any anime merchandise? If you do, which is your favorite? I own a few–my favorite would be a toss-up between my Kuroko’s Basketball wall scroll and my DVD set of Princess Jellyfish–do DVDs count as merchandise?…I say yes. XD (I’m also very found of my Arrietty OST CD.)

Choose between creating an anime, video game, or writing a book. What genre would it be and why? I’m actually writing a book right now (sci-fi/high fantasy–I’ve always loved writing stories) but creating an anime would be an experience to say the least! I have several stories in my head that would be perfect for anime–a thriller saga and a zombie/character driven tale that would look less cheesy in anime form lol.

One question stolen because I like it XD :

What is your favorite type of blog? Episodic, reviews, or a mix of anime and other media? I like a mixture! Strictly speaking anime blogs, I like blogs that keep to mostly anime and manga as topics–I’m not a gamer. I do enjoy episodic posts, but I prefer the types where the writer share their thoughts on the episode, instead of simply recapping the episode. I heavily depend on seeing reviews for manga or anime and their characters, because those are often instrumental in getting me to watch something specific.

Boiling it down, though, I like the genuine blogs, where the author seems to love what they write about, even if they don’t do it often or if sometimes they blog about something I’m not as interested in. 😀

Screenshot (10145)

Official Rules of the Sunshine Awardsunshine-award-logo

If you have been nominated for The Sunshine Award and you choose to accept it, write a blog post about the Sunshine award in which you:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
    Answer the questions from the person who nominated you.
    Nominate a few other bloggers.
    Write the same amount of questions for the bloggers you nominated.
    Notify the bloggers on their blog.
    Put the award button on your blog.
My Questions:
  • What is an anime you really enjoyed, but found it wasn’t really noticed or appreciated by other people?
  • Do you watch shows as they are released by episode, or do you wait to watch them when everything is released?
  • What are your thoughts on anime food–do you notice it, do you like how it looks, ect?
  • Do you think anime has a good track record for delivering decent sequels? What series had a good sequel that you enjoyed?
  • What’s an anime that was better as a manga? If you’re not as versed in manga, then what is an anime’s manga that you’re interested in checking out for more of the story/characters?

Screenshot (11661)

I’m tagging people who I think will actually want to share this on their blog (no pressure of course, do this if it seems fun for you) but if I don’t tag you and you still want to do this, please go ahead! You can even comment and I’ll link to your blog here in the post for people to go see it! So, I tag:

UNOTAKU || Itadakimasu Anime! || Traveling in My Bookcase

~Jamie

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for tagging me! Can’t wait to do this 🙂 fantastic answers and great questions 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      You’re so welcome, I’m glad I thought of some good enough questions for you guys! 🙂 Thank you! ❤

      Like

  2. Have done it – now up on my blog! 🙂 Was so much fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Yay! I’ll check it out soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

