Favorite Spring OPs || Tuesday Tunes

seven witches

I have dreaded yet anticipated this post all spring! I’ve had a hard time trying to rank my favorite opening songs from this past season, mostly because there wasn’t one that easily became my favorite, so picking a number one is tough–but it must be done! XD I’m ranking my favorites by taking account both the music and the animation, along with how much excitement or love the opening gets from me as a response for the show in question.

Honorable mentions first. Yes, I’m sharing two honorable mentions instead of one because I really couldn’t choose between these two. I really like them both, so let’s discuss them in turn!

Runner Up: Seraph of the End. Firstly, I love how creepy this opening is at its beginning. The instrument choices mixed with the dripping blood and the spinning vampire are just creepy awesome. Then you realize how good the song’s tempo is as the characters move with it–that’s what made Seraph’s stand out: how well the animation flowed with the song itself.

Runner Up: Yamada-kun and the 7 Witches. Look at this! It’s simple yet beautifully detailed! I love the twisting rose thorns and the flying witch hat and the flutter effect on top of the animation! The animation really lets the characters stand out for themselves here. Plus the song is awesome! I love the melody and tempo, it gets my head nodding whenever I listen.

Third Place: The Heroic Legend of Arslan. THE SONG. THE SONG. I love this opening just for how energizing and grabbing the music is! It’s a rock song, which is pretty different for the setting of the anime, but I think it works! I wish I could sing along, because it’s often stuck in my head, reminding me of Arslan’s story. The animation works well with the song, too!

Second Place: Blood Blockade Battlefront. Wow, my relationship with this song is complicated. When the season began, I only liked this opening for its animation, because these sequences are awesome, but the song annoyed me. I wanted something more driving and upbeat. However, as I heard it each week, I found the song was in my head ALL. THE. TIME. It was annoying at first, but I’ve learned to enjoy it…because what choice do I have left. XD

First Place: Punch Line. This opening is adventure all on its own! I don’t care for all the panty shots *sigh* but I love just about everything else in this opening! I especially love the song because it changes so much over the course of a minute and a half. It’s incredibly catchy and memorable and I “sing” it around the house sometimes. I also love all the colors and crazy visuals–at first it feels pretty random, but once you know the story you see the relevancy of everything they display!

So, there are top five favorites…they’re all good in their own right, but nothing reached the amazingness that was Death Parade’s opening. That’s still my favorite of the year! Which openings were your favorites?

~Jamie

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Seraph of the End’s opening is really epic, and Arslan Senki’s is too! Great picks ~

    Hey, I have nominated you for the Real Neat Blog Award! I always enjoy reading from your blog, and I hope you accept this nomination.

    https://animecafehost.wordpress.com/2015/07/10/its-real-neat-to-have-blogger-friends-real-neat-blog-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      I love listening to those to on Liston On Repeat, they’re such great songs! 😀

      Oh my gosh! Thank you so much, of course I accept! I’m so you glad you enjoy my blog, that’s great to hear! (I’m not sure how I wasn’t following yours already, but I am now. lol) 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hooray! Thanks for the follow, Jamie!

      Like

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

