Ongoing || Summer 2015 First Impressions: Part 1

Between Internet problems and me taking my sweet time writing these posts, my first impressions are a tad late. XD I’m watching so many shows this season, mostly because I couldn’t cut down my list. I wanted to give most shows about four episodes to sell themselves to me before writing impressions; it’s a pet peeve of mine when people prematurely share their judgments on things like TV shows before its fully set itself up, so I don’t want to make that same mistake. 🙂 But here we are at last!

Note: to clarify my blogging process on impressions for any new followers: I write these impressions in parts, starting with my most favorite show and working down the list, with six shows covered per post. 😀

Screenshot (13727)

Gangsta. | 4 episodes

Two men with an intriguing history survive the underworld of Ergastulum together as “The Handymen”, battling drug induced super-like humans and aiding cops, the community, and an ex-prostitute along the way.

Hands down my favorite show of the season! I thought this would be a shoot-’em-up, loud and crass type show, but it’s a relaxed, surprisingly character driven, yet equally gripping type story instead. Gangsta. has a diverse, unique cast of characters who stole my heart by the first episode. Gangsta. is refreshingly mature without being crass or reveling in its sexual content, choosing instead to peel back the layers of its characters and their back stories. I’m head over heels in love with Nicolas Brown, and am also incredibly invested in Worick and Alex. I’m so excited to see where the anime goes! (Read five more reasons why I love Gangsta. here!)

Screenshot (13850)

Gakkou Gurashi! | 4 episodes

A synopsis will ruin the show. Just go watch the first episode please.

This is a must-watch. A must-watch. Brilliantly directed with the suspense supremely executed, and back stories told with taste and care, Gakkou Gurashi! would be number one on my list if I wasn’t so attached to Gangsta.’s characters. I love these characters personalities and their character designs, the show’s visual aesthetic, and the overall emotions. I had my eye on this one as the Summer season approached, and I’m so happy that it has yet to disappoint. I don’t want to say more for fear of spoilers. Just PLEASE. Stick out that first episode!!

Screenshot (13466)

Charlotte | 4 episodes

Certain children entering puberty begin to exhibit incomplete powers, such as invisibility and body transference. A student council from a special school use their own powers to stop others from exposing or misusing their new powers so they avoiding being hurt.

While I’m not deeply invested in this show emotionally (not yet anyway,) I feel weird ranking it lower than third for now. It’s stunningly beautiful when it comes to the animation, one of the most beautifully shows of the season. I really like the cast of characters and how they use their powers. I enjoy the “new power per week” formula and have yet to be disappointed by it. The show has some deep moments too. From the brief clips of disturbing images in the opening, I have high hopes that this will turn out to be a darker story than what it is so far.

Screenshot (12537)

Prison School | 4 episodes

An all-girls school decides to accept five new male students during the new school year. The boys are not there long when they attempt to peep. Caught by the student council, the five are committed to a month of prison time on the school property or face shame and being expelled.

I DON’T KNOW HOW TO EXPLAIN WHY THIS FANSERVICE HEAVY, ECCHI SHOW IS IN MY TOP FOUR ANIME OF THE SEASON. EXCEPT THAT IT’S SOMEHOW HYSTERICAL?! I feel a little bad that I love this show so much, but I’ve found it to be, somehow, incredibly entertaining and hysterical! And also disturbing, absurd, gross, and strange all at once. Please let me state this has very heavy adult material in it, some of which I don’t care for in the slightest, but I’M NOT GOING TO LIE AND SAY I DON’T LOVE THIS SHOW… BECAUSE I KINDA DO. I KINDA LOVE PRISON SCHOOL. HELP. XD

Screenshot (13703)

Non Non Biyori Repeat | 3 episodes

A sequel to Non Non Biyori.

Boy is this a fantastic sequel so far! Non Non is happiness, and hilarity, and yet sometimes tinged with the bitter-sweetness of reality that makes the tears flow. The characters are memorable and funny and they have so fantastic dialogue together. I’m so in love with these girls! A huge thank you goes out now to my Sensei for screaming at me in text a couple of months ago that I needed to watch the first season so I’d be caught up. I’m so glad I did.

Screenshot (13517)

Rokka: Braves of the Six Flowers | 4 episodes

Chosen by the Goddess of Fate, six heroes called the Braves of the  Six Flowers are meant to gather to defeat the demon king, except when they do, they find there are seven of them. One of them must be an imposter…but who?

There’s just something about Rokka no Yuusha. Maybe it’s the unique South American setting or the cast of enjoyable, uniquely designed characters, but I really like Rokka for some reason. It has it’s faults of course, but it feels very different from most of the other shows this season. I genuinely like all the characters presented so far, which doesn’t often happen for this type of story, and I like the pace the show has taken. This isn’t my most favorite of the bunch, but I’m often surprised by how much I enjoy this while I’m watching it!

Note: I have already discussed the shorts of the season here, so they won’t be re-ranked with the full length shows till the end of the season.

These are my top six shows of the season; what summer shows are you enjoying right now? I can’t wait to keep covering more of my favorites in Part 2!

~Jamie

2 Comments Add yours

  1. foshizzel says:

    Gakkou Gurashi is so amazing! I’ve read some of the manga, but so far I love the anime version 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      IRK Gakkou Gurashi is fantastic–if it’s consistently this good for the whole season, I can see it being an instant classic!

      You are the second person to say they’ve read the manga but also like what the anime is doing, which gives me so much hope! Most people prefer manga ove the anime if they have read it, so the anime must know what it’s doing! XD

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

