Which Summer Anime Surprised You?

Screenshot (13478)
hunting for new anime with the Charlotte cast πŸ˜‰

I’ve been really enjoying the last month of brand new summer anime. There are shows that I knew I would enjoy. But there have been some fun..and not so fun surprises along the way, too. There are several shows that I thought I wouldn’t care for…but actually do! And ones I was looking forward to butΒ was disappointed. Let’s discuss a couple, and then I want to hear from you! ❀

Surprise!Β God Eater. While I highly anticipated it, the first episode was pretty bland. Thankfully, it improved during the second episode due to a character death (always makes things interesting!) and the third episode had great fighting eye candy! The show went from “I could drop this and not care” to “wow, I definitely need to tune in next week”.

Disappointed. Classroom Crisis. I anticipated this show because I like near futuristic settings. But I almost died. of boredom. during that second episode. I have never seen so much narrative exposition in one episode before. I generally do not mind some narrative–its one way to get a world and its rules set up fast. But that…that was too much of too much.

So how about you? Any Summer shows you were looking forward to but found disappointing? Or how about a show you thought you wouldn’t care for and then really liked? Surprise me! πŸ˜€

~Jamie

10 Comments Add yours

  1. mirrorpurple says:

    Disappointed would be God Eater and surprised is definitely Gakkou Gurashi. Hands dowb

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Aw, so you’re the opposite with God Eater, that’s funny. πŸ™‚ And Gakkou Gurashi IS AMAZING!! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LitaKino says:

    I Only just happen to find your blog I love it has a great feel to it I’m Lita πŸ™‚

    One anime that surprised me this summer season would be Gangsta it wasn’t on my list but decided to check it out because of all the hype it and so glad I did it was so good XD

    I wouldn’t say I am disappointed with any at the moment I have put Game laplace on hold for the moment as I find it at some point to get into it >.<

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you for the follow, Lita! I’m so glad you enjoyed my blog! πŸ™‚

      Yay, I’m so glad you checked out Gangsta. as its my favorite of the season! That would be a surprise πŸ˜€

      Ah, interesting reaction to Game Laplace! It’s so neat hearing how different people react to the same shows. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    2. LitaKino says:

      Naww Yay I hope you enjoy my blog if you decide to follow me ^^
      Yes game of laplace I will revisit in a few weeks just hasn’t gained enough interest for me like I thought it would lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was disappointed by Gate after the first episode. The second episode was essentially a depressing slaughter, almost nothing happened in the third, and the fourth finally saw all the cute anime girls assembled among the JGSDF forces. Thankfully, episode five has an intense siege of a town, and it looks like the Japanese military will become more involved in the politics of the fantasy world’s Empire.

    Other than that, I had no idea that I would like Rokka no Yuusha as much as I do, and all of the other shows are very satisfying.

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Interesting perspective! It took me about two or three episodes to get really involved in Gate, and I agree the later episodes have been much better. πŸ™‚

      That’s awesome! I really really like Rokka no Yuusha too, that last episode was very involving! Yes, it’s been a great season so far!! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. I’d have to agree that I was disappointed with God Eater. But I’ve been enjoying a lot of (newly) dubbed anime on Funimation. One of my favorites is Seraph of the End. It’s awesome!

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Aw that’s too bad–I was at first as well, but I enjoyed the 2nd and 3rd episodes a lot. πŸ™‚

      Oooh, Seraph of the End! I saw that in sub last season, it was pretty decent! Glad you’re enjoying it too!

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

