Food Wars || Tuesday Tunes

851204f891a1402a6da82c222a9e37b1c6b3fa2f_hq

I’ve been waiting for months for this soundtrack, and its finally out! In what should be one of the top ten shows of the entire year, we have the story of a boy valiantly taking on Japan’s greatest and most cutthroat culinary school: And the music makes it all epic!

I have to laugh at the image used in the YouTube videos because it’s so much darker than the show itself (which is excellent comedy on top of excellent shounen action.) Anywho, I have four specific tracks to highlight today (because it was so hard to narrow down my faves!) and a list of my other favorite tracks that you can check out later if you’d like. Well, let’s dig in!

Track 7: Study Both Sweet and Sour!: As I clicked through the soundtrack, this was one of the first that I recognized from the anime. I love the sense of determination and slight unease that this track emanates with its minor key. Such a great building effect! Then, mid-song, it shifts to a major key, beautiful and airy like a butterfly for just a couple of moments, before returning to the building minor key. Like it’s title, it really is a piece of “sweet and sour”, which when pulled together like this, can be incredibly delicious to the ears!

Track 26: Welcome to the Gourmet Food World!: It would practically be a sin to not include this already-iconic track of heavenly chorus and gradual epic percussion on this list! Anyone watching Food Wars will immediately recognize this as the song that plays when one has tasted someone else’s dish and is astounded by how heavenly it is. It’s over-dramatic and glorious. to excellent– often comedic–effect!

Track 20: The Yami-Nabe Stew Stench: Your dish is probably in trouble if you hear this music playing in the background–or you’re facing an unexpected problem with time constraints during the cooking process–the agony! How cruel the judges words are to your ears! Listen to those hysterical strings and groaning bass and tingling music box melody! NO, YOU’VE BEEN EXPELLED. YOUR CHANCE AT A CULINARY CAREER IN JAPAN IS OVER. Just listen to this track, that’s exactly what’s going on and you know it! XD

Track 30: Food Battle Start!: We can’t end without this track, an epic orchestral piece you would expect to hear in a medieval, fantasy battle, and not in the steamy atmosphere of kitchen competition and culinary knives. However, that’s oddly why Food Wars is so awesome: it takes the action genre–the music, the battle tropes, the presentation–and throws it into a unique setting of modern cooking! I love this track; it’s what brings me back for more each time: the adrenaline, the epicness, the feel of battle!

Can you tell by now that I’m an insanely huge fan of Food Wars? I can’t help but recommend it–get past the first few episodes of ecchi elements and you’re in for a stunning treat!

And because the soundtrack is so awesome, I’m again including the entire playlist; I haven’t heard a soundtrack so diverse since Assassination Classroom’s! Several of my other favorite tracks would  be, but are not limited to, numbers 6, 8, 9, 11, 15, 18, 24, 25, and 29. Have a field day, music-loving friends!

Need more awesome anime music? Listen to past Tuesday Tunes highlights here on the YouTube playlist.

~Jamie

6 Comments Add yours

  1. God’s Tongue, YES!!!! I think what’s best about Food Wars’s OST is that it encompasses so many genres and boils them together into one over-the-top dramatic cooking show. I’ve been waiting so long for someone to post this! I love this show way too much, so thanks for sharing all of those great tracks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      YES! It’s such a diverse soundtrack! I KNOW FOOD WARS IS THE BEST SHOW, I can’t wait to see what happens next! I hope it gets renewed for a second season too!

      You’re welcome! I know that feeling, I was anxiously waiting for someone to upload it to YouTube myself; so glad someone finally did! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ladyelasa says:

    This is a cool soundtrack! Did not expect to hear this in a slice of life anime haha. XD I also wanted to know you convinced me to watch Psycho-Pass! I’m on ep 10 and I’m loving it so far. I’ve been obsessing over the ending theme “Namae no nai Kaibutsu”! XD

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      It’s not actually a slice of life, it’s a twist on shounen action, just in a culinary school. XD SO MUCH AWESOME ANIME FOOD! Glad you like the music!

      HORRAY. PSYCHO-PASS IS THE BEST I’M SO GLAD YOU’RE WATCHING IT!!!!! I love Akane so much. Yes, the ending song is my JAM, treasure it before it goes away for the second half. 😦 The second opening is awesome tho. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. ladyelasa says:

      Lol. XD

      It’s definitely one of the darker animes I’ve watched and I’ve watched a lot of dark animes, but I like all the psychology and utopian society aspects. Akane is really cool. ^ ^ Nooooooooo! I hope the opening is better in the second half. The opening is all right in this half lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Jamie says:

      Psycho-Pass’s perspective on society and freedom and psychology is really gripping! I can’t wait till you see the whole first season!

      Don’t worry, the second opening is basically a classic; it’s one of my top favorites! That seems to be a pattern for me: I like the first ending and second opening best. XD

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

