K: Missing Kings

Screenshot (14120)In the upcoming fall season, the anime K is getting a sequel. I put some time into watching K for this reason…and also because the show is quite popular, from what I can tell.

I decided not to review the first series itself for a couple of reason though: it wasn’t actually great. The animation was gorgeous and I loved visual experience, but the story and characters weren’t spectacular and seemed fairly standard. The main characters in particular where nothing special–I was more interested in the Red King and his gang of street toughs, but sadly they weren’t the main focus.

Screenshot (14085)

However, I’m glad I watched K because the sequel movie, K: Missing Kings, made the 13 episode show worth wading through, and got me equally excited for the sequel! So today, instead of trying to create a traditional review for a sequel film, I’ll just hit a few of my favorite things from the movie–I’d be interested to hear what any of you thought of the series or movie in the comments afterwards as well!

Screenshot (14090)The best and most important element about K: Missing Kings is its animation and visual aesthetic. The colors, the flow, the background art–the entire film was incredible to watch, even more so than the original series for some reason! From shots of the sky and the city to details of streets and buildings to the bottles in the bar, the colors and lighting created this amazing atmospheric experience that I truly hope the second season is able to capture!

Just look at this screenshot below! It’s currently my desktop background image!

Screenshot (14071)One thing I really liked about the movie was that the main character of the last season was absent. I apologize to K fans who might like that white-haired lad, but considering I didn’t grow to care for him, it was good to follow a movie with someone else. The characters I was more interested got a lot more screen time with development, which I appreciated!

Screenshot (14104)Another large difference that influenced the experience for me was the language I watched the show in. For the series, I decided to watch it in dub on Netflix for a change of pace, so I wouldn’t necessarily have to be glued to the screen to read all the dialogue. While that in and itself was nice, I didn’t care for the dub all that much. Watching K: Missing Kings with the original Japanese voices turned out to be a better experience for me!

I think I’ve reached that point in my anime journey where I’m finally able to appreciate Japanese voice acting; it helps being more familiar with the language, too. I’ll definitely be delighted to watch the second season of K in sub! Besides, its such a beautiful language to the ears!

Screenshot (14097)So, those were a few things I enjoyed about K: Missing Kings. I’m way more excited for the second series having seen the film, so it’s higher on my anticipation list for next season!

How about you? Are you fan of K? Are you glad it’s getting a second season? Have you seen this sequel movie?

~Jamie

5 Comments Add yours

  1. lynlynsays says:

    I am a fan of K, and I am looking forward to the next season. I am hoping for a lot more action, and hopefully the storyline develops more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      I hope the story line develops more as well; I think the show has A LOT of potential! And it’s so beautiful to look at! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. lynlynsays says:

      The visuals are beautiful! And the music score is amazing too! :3

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I probably need to get on this anime quick. It sounds fascinating and the art for what was that, a bar? Anyway, it looks phenomenal!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      I thought the show was worth watching just for the movie, so hopefully you’ll like it just as much! Plus THE ART. THE ART IS WORTH THE WATCH ALONE! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

