Thank God For Summer Anime

tumblr_nsgto5xq9k1ra6mo9o1_540

(Celebratory Note: this is my 100th post here on Jamie Talks Anime! Whoot-whoot, what a milestone to hit already!)

I’m both invigorated and completely exhausted from this Summer season of anime. IT IS SO HARD TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THERE BEING TOO MANY GOOD SHOWS, YOU GUYS. So I thought I’d give some hearty thanks for a few shows I’ve gotten a kick out of every single week this season because I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT GOOD STORIES. And how wonderful it is to actually have good stories to watch every day of every week!

(possible light spoilers below.)

tumblr_nr8j3vG7do1qa94xto1_500

Thank God for School Live!/Gakkou Gurashi! Who knew moe girls would work so darn well with a zombie apocalypse narrative. Not only do a I get a dose of adorableness each week, but also solid storytelling. The show discusses psychology and survival through several interesting filters, which I still don’t want to spoil (seriously, go watch this show!) The show is also going in a direction I didn’t think they would, so kudos to them! I love the four girls and their will to survive together–this is still my second favorite show of the season!

Screenshot (13763)Thank God for Gangsta. This is still my favorite show of the season. This show is all about character study which absolutely thrills me. I love characters written multi-faceted with intriguing backstories, and Gangsta’s three main characters meet all these needs. Watching Nicolas’s and Worick’s backstory has been fascinating, and we’re now getting more of Alex’s too, as she starts to regain her memory. I can’t say enough good things about this show!

tumblr_nr6oq76t9Q1rbnx7io1_540

Thank God for Himouto! Umura-chan. This isn’t one of my top favorite shows of the season, but I’ve gotten so much enjoyment from it. Umura-chan, while she is a simple character idea, has proven to be a more interesting girl than I originally thought she’d be. She’s a little more than just a perfect school girl who transforms into a chibi brat at home. Plus, the show is quite entertaining, I get a good laugh out of it just about every week!

Screenshot (12548)Thank God for Prison School. If you know anything about this anime, then it must sound like an incredibly weird show to thank God for (and I’ve nearly completed a post on why I am watching Prison School and why I like it. Keep your eyes peeled for that!) I actually am very thankful for this show because I can’t remember the last time a story has both equally thrilled, disgusted, amused, and completely involved me in its characters and the humorous, dire, over-the-top situations they get involved in. I laugh my head off, gape until my jaw dislocates, and then hold my breath until the credits roll. It’s that incredible. (Obligatory Mature Content Warning XD)

tumblr_nt1lesEm111u5wu57o1_540Thank God for My Love Story!!/Ore Monogatari!! SLAY ME. THE MOE. THE DRAMA. THE COMEDY. THE EVERYTHING. EVERYTHING. ITS ALL TOO MUCH. THANK YOU GOD FOR ORE MONOGATARI!! (and if you haven’t seen this then please go watch the first three episodes so you can join me in this beautiful story of true love!)

What shows are you watching that you’re incredibly thankful for?

~Jamie

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Hallelujah! Praise!! Congrats on 100 POSTS! What a milestone achieved! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you!!!!! *throws confetti*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LitaKino says:

    Agree Agree Agree with all of the above 🙂 Nice happy, upbeat post hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Thank you very much! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. LitaKino says:

      You always do great posts Jamie 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ladyelasa says:

    I haven’t seen any of these shows, but that look really cool. ^ ^ I’m thankful for Fruits Basket and how it makes me cry tears of joy and sadness–literally. I’m thankful for Black Butler at how it makes me laugh and creeps me out at the same time. XD I’m thankful for Psycho-Pass and how it thrills me and makes me ponder on human nature and psychology. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Awwww this was so sweet!! Thank you for sharing this!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    2. ladyelasa says:

      Hee hee. ^ ^

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

