3 Day Quote Challenge P2

Day 2 of the quote challenge! (Though, honestly, just three days? I don’t think this has earned the title of “challenge”. XD)tumblr_n93pimeWkJ1sy885eo1_500

Princess Jellyfish has been and still is my favorite anime. Ever. It’s josei (my actual demographic!) but it’s drama is balanced by quirkiness and nerds, while also delivery a message about appearances. Today’s quote is said by our lead, Tsukimi: “Every girl is born a princess. Some just forget is all.” and that line really stood out to me.

As a woman surrounded in a world full of high beauty standards, I can quickly lose sight of my real worth. It’s okay to glam up it you want to, but it’s sometimes hard to remember what your real worth is, when in a world all about outward appearances. I’m a bit of a nerd so I don’t bother with makeup much myself, so I found this element of the anime very relatable.

No matter how ugly or gorgeous, no matter how you deck yourself out to be, you’re still you. And all us girls were born princesses!

Part 1 of the 3 Day Quote Challenge.

~Jamie

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I remember reading a similar sentiment in George MacDonald’s The Princess and the Goblin. For MacDonald, everything and everyone is connected to a higher reality. As C. S. Lewis, that most fervent disciple of MacDonald, said: “You have never talked to a mere mortal….it is immortals whom we joke with, work with, marry, snub and exploit – immortal horrors or everlasting splendors.” So, every woman is a princess and every man a prince if only they remain true to themselves.

    Of course, the creator of Princess Jellyfish was probably thinking along more humanistic lines. Still, I very much enjoyed that anime.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Very nicely said!! Thank you for sharing that! 😀

      Like

  2. ladyelasa says:

    Aw this is really sweet. This reminds me a little bit of A Little Princess. “I am a princess. All girls are! Even if they live in tiny old attics, even if they dress in rags, even if they aren’t pretty, or smart, or young, they’re still princesses – all of us!” It’s really inspired especially–like you said–in this world so focused on what’s on the outside.

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Aww I forgot about A Little Princess, I liked the book. 🙂

      Like

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

