Eyecatches of Summer 2015

You might have noticed that here on the blog I admire all sorts of elements of an anime’s package–which sometimes means more than just the stories and characters. For example, I discuss anime music a lot, because it’s a special part of the story!

Well, last season I had a lot of fun sharing my favorite eyecatches and I decided to do it again for the Summer! Eyecatches are those artistic cards that pop up in the middle of certain anime when it generally goes to the commercial. Sometimes they’re just the title, but other times they demonstrate some beautiful art that ties into the story! Let’s see which were the best this past season!

Honorable Mention: Ore Monogatari!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are so cool! Very simple; you need very little explanation from me as to what these are. I did find it hilarious that one week they used an English word instead (included), but it just doesn’t look as cool, lol.

Third Place: Himouta! Umura-chan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are all pretty simple, but I love them because they dispaly each character’s personality really well! Himouto! Umura-chan was all about their characters reacting to each other and otaku “problems”, so it was fitting that between the ten minute stories we saw the characters on display. I like how simple they are; these would make nice desktop backgrounds! XD

Second Place: Gangsta.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

LOOK AT THESE. They almost look real, like real photographs! For all I know, that might be what they are! Gangsta. was a grimy, bloody, yet intimate anime, and you can see that reflected in these images. Almost each one is a close up on a small item; I love the detail, the darker colors, and the grainy effect. Very atmospheric!

First Place: Gakkou Gurashi!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gakkou Gurashi! takes first place for several reasons. Each image is simple, bright, and clean, with appealing pinks and yellows. But the star of each image is more than just a trinket of the high school girls. While watching, I was surprised by how meaningful these little things were because of how they were used in the story. The creators put wonderful thought into even the eyecatches of their story and for that, these win first place of Summer 2015!

~Jamie

3 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyelasa says:

    I never thought of rating these. I really like the eyecatches for Black Butler and how the different tarot cards relate to events happening in the show and each card is held by Ciel or Alois when going commercial then by Claude or Sebastien when returning. It was really neat.

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      IKR? I thought it would be a fun thing to rate since I never see anyone discuss them, and they can be such a reliable thing when watching a show week to week.
      That’s really cool about Black Butler; I like it when the eyecatches can relate back to the story in some way! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. ladyelasa says:

      It is a cool idea. ^ ^

      Like

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

