Noragami || Tuesday Tunes

on

tumblr_n5u9knZX7d1sk1rjvo1_500

After two weeks with the Summer’s openings and endings, it’s time to return to OST’s for Tuesday Tunes! Who else is excited?! Today I’m highlighting Noragami!

I love this anime to death; it’s hysterical, emotionally gripping, gorgeously animated, and full of great action. To include in that list as one of Noragami’s more memorable elements is also its OST; I was listening to it a long before I saw the show just because it was so….different! It really works in the anime’s urban fantasy setting, but it’s ticklish to the ears outside of the show too.

Track 19: Harmony. This track really shows off Noragami’s electronic sound, something infused into most of the soundtrack. On top of that there are so many rich moments where the beats really add to the sound, swirling in perfectly with the twinkling music-box-like sound. It’s really a very playful track, but it slowly gains a more serious undertone to it which balances itself out. The voices add a unique layer to the music, too. I can just see Yato, our mischievous God of War, trotting jauntily down a modern Japanese street to this. XD

Track 08: Soul Chosen. This has such a rhythmic, airy atmosphere to it which really captures the mysterious, slightly dangerous side of the story, and Yato’s powers too. The vocals and wind instrument infuse the track with an ethnic, mysterious air which sounds inviting and intimidating at the same time. And the background percussion can make the right punctures at the right time, there at the end.

Track 20: Back Alley. This one has SO MUCH PERSONALITY. During the show, this plays over the comedic moments. However when I first heard it outside of the series, I loved the more serious, swag effect that permeated the track. There’s not a lot of melody, but the rhythm and beat is incredible to absorb and dang fun to listen to! I almost can’t not move when listening to this. XD

Track 11: Misoji. This is very rightly described as a battle theme. The tension, drive, and rhythm create a vivid landscape for tragedy, adrenaline, and even a touch of heartache. It’s hard to describe this piece because there are so many levels of intensity and beat; and yet it all pulls together to create one piece of music and emotion. Surprisingly, the piece mellows out right at the end in favor of a melancholy piano. There really is only sadness when you walk the battleground.

I’m going to stop here despite have at least three more tracks I could share, so I’ll possibly do a part 2 for this soundtrack in the future! 🙂 And now I have to ask, are any of you Noragami fans AND HOW EXCITED ARE YOU FOR THIS SECOND SEASON?! I’m loving it so far! ❤

Need more awesome anime music? Listen to past Tuesday Tunes highlights here on the YouTube playlist.

~Jamie

9 Comments Add yours

  1. insightblue says:

    I LOVE Noragami! So happy they brought it back for a second season!! All the characters are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      I know!!! It really deserved a second season! I so agree with you, the characters are so fun and genuine, I could never be bored of them! ❤

      Like

  2. ramexa says:

    Noragami is amazing! This show rightfully deserves a second season!

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      Agreed! One of the better shounen tales I’ve ever seen, and so much fun! ❤

      Like

  3. You’re really pushing my buttons, Jamie. This makes me want to stop everything that I’m doing and watch Noragami, gosh dang it!!! That “Soul Chosen” and “Misoji” establish such a wondrous tone, and then you have “Harmony” pimpin’ out. Cool songs, looking forward to watching this one so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      OMG Taku you’re going to LOVE Noragami whenever you get around to seeing it!!! (Do it now, it’s so worth the watch!!!) XD I’m so glad you loved the music, it’s pretty enticing isn’t it? XD Harmony especially rocks my world, lol. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ladyelasa says:

    I haven’t seen the anime, but I really like the last piece! I like the mixture of emotions in it. What’s this anime about?

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Noragami is about a girl who meets a small name god Yato and his helper/weapon as they fight of “phantoms” that enter modern day Japan and try to earn enough money to make their own shrine. It’s very funny, full of action, but has lots of genuine heart and emotional depth. I HIGHLY recommend the show it’s fantastic! I think you’d love it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. ladyelasa says:

      Oooo! It sounds cool!

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

