Ongoing || Fall 2015 First Impressions: Part 2

on

We’re on to Part 2 of my Fall impressions; be sure to check out my top six shows in Part 1 if you missed it. We’re picking up at number six on my list, Attack on Titan: Junior High!
Screenshot (1545)

Attack on Titan: Junior High | 6 episodes in

An official parody on the Attack on Titan series.

I did not expect this to be as funny and enjoyable as it has been. I enjoyed Attack on Titan when I first watched it, but it can be smidgen annoying due to its fandom. Thankfully, this brilliant parody of the story, with the original Japanese voice actors, is bringing my love back to the series! If you’ve seen the original AOT, you’ll get a hoot out of all the clever fandom nods, character parodies, and story twists! My only complaint is that my favorite character Armin is completely mocked as a big cry baby. Just…gah. His character is so misunderstood!

Screenshot (1165)

Shomin Sample | 5 episodes in

A boy is “kidnapped” to attend a school for rich girls as a “commoner sample” for them to observe. He finds himself in his own endearing little harem of naive girls… but they all think he’s a homosexual.

At first I was nervous for this one; I didn’t know if this ecchi was going to forget its intriguing plot line in favor of harem tropes and fanservice. So far, however, this has got to be on the sweetest and most innocent of ecchis I’ve ever seen. The lead is nice, the girls are fairly pure-minded and naïve, and the blue-haired loli, whom I’ve nicked-named Buttermint, IS THE MOST ADORABLE THING SINCE “RABBIT’S” CHINO-CHAN. Frankly I’m surprised by how much I’ve enjoyed this show and I can’t wait to see more!

Screenshot (1312)

The Perfect Insider | 5 episodes in

A researcher and his mentor’s daguther get pulled into a perplexing “locked room” murder mystery on an island, as though puzzling over the victim’s psyche wasn’t enough of a puzzle.

So far this is a better mystery show than last season’s Ranpo Kitan! The characters have an odd sense of realism and the mystery is fairly intriguing! There’s one particular character who has a multiple personality disorder, which is fascinating. I really love mysteries, so I’ve enjoyed this show…though I’m just a tad lost, currently. But who cares, I’m too hooked to stop watching now! Also, this has one of my new favorite openings; modern danced mixed with simple but colorful animation! Blows my mind each time I watch it!

Screenshot (1473)

Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry | 6 episodes in

New roommates at a magic-users school, Stella the “Number One” and Ikki “the Worst One”, have a bumpy first meeting, but through school battles find themselves drawn together.

The only real romance of the season, Cavalry is one of several “magic school” shows which are airing this season, and I consider it the best of the season’s bunch. The characters are more memorable, the animation a nice change of pace, the romance has progressed nicely, and the magic battles are actually well done. It just makes it into tenth place on my list of favorite shows of the season!

Screenshot (1042)

Utawarerumono: The False Mask | 6 episodes in

An alternative version to Utawarerumono.

I actually did not see the first series of this show! I kinda randomly picked this one up and was assured my sensei that it was separate enough from the original series to watch on its own. I’ve tuned in each week since. It’s actually grown on me a lot as time passes; the lead character reminds me of myself in a sense, which is fun, and all the girls are adorable with their ears and tails! Plus, the setting is like a breath of fresh air, along with the clothing designs. It’s just something relaxing to watch on Saturdays. 🙂

Screenshot (1731)

Seraph of the End: Battle in Nagoya | 4 episodes in

A sequel to Seraph of the End.

Well, I was practically DREADING this second season of Seraph after how the animation quality of the first season dipped and the characters tasted stale. However, I’m happy to report that the continuation is an improvement! All the characters are more likable, the animation is a bit better, and the story has progressed enough to maintain my interest! I’m so relieved; now the first season doesn’t feel like a waste of time. 🙂

Which of these are you watching this season? Have you tried out Perfect Insider or Shomin Sample yet? Anyone else absolutely loving AOT: Junior High? Its getting me excited for the actual show’s coming second season!

~Jamie

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rocco B says:

    AoT: junior high is such a blast, and is just pure gold. And yeah Owari is a lot better than the last half. I’m watching Cavalry, and it’s decent, 4 episode in so far xDD.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      Pure gold is a great phrase for Junior High! I can’t wait for the next episode! XD Yep, I’m so thankful Owari is improved. Ooh glad you’re trying Cavalry, I hope you continue enjoying it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ladyelasa says:

    I have not seen any of these but AOT: Junior High and False Mask seem cool! But poor Armin! 😦 He’s my favorite! The anthropomorphic characters of False Mask seem cool! I’m partial to those. 😉

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      GIRL YOU NEED TO WATCH JUNIOR HIGH!!! If you’re looking for a laugh, then you would love it!! And YES the girls in False Mask are adorable with their ears! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

