Favorite Winter 2016 OPs || Tuesday Tunes

on

tumblr_o252wcDvPX1r3rdh2o1_540I’ve not kept up with as many anime shows this season, but I’ve still found a few gems in the anime opening world, especially my first and second favorites.

Honorable Mention: Konosuba. In so many ways, everything about this feels so cliche, from the song, to the way the visuals play out, right down to all the cleavage. Yet it’s so fun and perfect the way it is and I like it! Maybe I like it because it makes me feel happy, like the show itself does. It’s such a great show, guys. XD But yeah, clichéd but classic anime opening! XD

Third Place: Erased. The opening from the best of the season! This is actually English cover synced with the visuals as the original version is unavailable. However, it still captures this great song’s emotion. The visuals are also interesting to watch, featuring children playing and living fairly normal lives; then our MC enters the scene and death and chaos slowly creeps into the picture. I like it!

Second Place: Dimension W. This was in first place for a while, but I didn’t love the visuals quite enough to let it be more than second. The song alone, though, is a WINNER. Wow, this is a great piece of work. Anyone who loved last year’s Gangsta. opening should love this song too! And while the visual story itself isn’t my favorite, you can’t beat that last scene where our MC is being a complete badass! And those dance moves. Those dance moves. XD

First Place: Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu. DANG. This is a good opening and I love everything about it! The beat and melody of a different era is perfect for this historical drama josei. The visuals are engaging and teasing; we see our storyteller sitting alone with different backgrounds changing around him, worlds shifting yet he forever still. There’s such a tragic sound to this song and it’s addicting right to that last note. I love it all: the singer, the visuals, the emotion. Winner of the season for me!

~Jamie

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. animelover32 says:

    Have you watched Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      YES. It’s my third favorite show of the season so far, after Erased and Shouwa. I love the background art and the characters are so endearing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AGH, Dimension W and ERASED!! I love that show’s ending, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

