Shorts of Winter 2016

I’m gonna be honest guys: there were a few shorts that were better than most of the shows that aired this season.

Please Tell Me! Gyaruko-chan. This show is NOT FOR INNOCENT PEOPLE WHO LIKE ONLY FAMILY FRIENDLY CONTENT IN THEIR ANIME. This was a humorous echii-like commentary of human anatomy and sexuality, following three girlfriends of different social statuses at high school. Despite its frank discussion of things like tampons, breast size, and LITERALLY ANYTHING ELSE EMBARRASSING YOU CAN THINK OF, I got the most laughs and genuine enjoyment from this show! It was quite hysterical AND I ACTUALLY RELATED TO THE INTRICATE PROBLEMS OF BEING FEMALE WHICH WAS FRANKLY DISCUSSED IN THIS SHOW. XD Quite honestly I loved the heck out of this, but I can’t recommend it to anybody unless you like glowing red with embarrassment and can handle such topics. XD

Ojisan and Marshmallow. A teddy bear of a guy practically worships marshmallows and his coworker, who’s sexually attracted to him, tries using marshmallows to catch his attention. While the series meandered a bit here and there,  it was still SUPER cute, with hysterical marshmallow teasing moments and lovable characters. This was actually more enjoyable to watch then many full length shows this season, so I highly recommend if you’re looking for something sweet, a little grown up, and short.

I’ve Had Enough of Being a Magical Girl/ Mahou Shoujo Nante Mou Ii Desukara. This is the CUTIE of the shorts; it is literally just a girl who gets the magical girl powers but has no enemies to fight and spends the series making magic water and just comprehending her abilities. It’s pretty simple with a four-minute run time, with a sweet sense of humor. It is a must watch for magical girl shoujo lovers like myself. Because kawaii!

Rainbow Days. AKA the short that has the LONGEST GOSH DARN OPENING OF ANY SHORT I HAVE EVER SEEN EVER. IT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL FOR A SHORT TO HAVE SUCH A LONG OP. ROFL. But I’ll forgive it, because it’s pretty fun to watch! Bishounen dudes with awesome platonic relationships meet pretty bishoujo girls at school: funny things happen and there are cute couples, ect ect. It’s just a nice Sunday short. It’s a two-cour show, so I’ll be watching this into the spring as well!

Oouya-san wa Shishunki. To be quite honest, I can’t even remember if this short was even about anything, but it was really cute and brief with some funny moments with moe characters. XD In the words of my anime mentor James, “It’s literally two minutes, so why not.”

Sekkou Boys. So, this was unique! This eight-minute anime brought vivid personalities to these non-moving classic Greek and Roman busts who formed the group “Sekkou Boys”, following them and their flustered young manager. The Boys were brilliantly voiced and the comedy was quite good! This is definitely worth watching, if not for the novelty of such unique objects used as lively characters!
Also: one of the best endings of the season. I always ended up chanting that beginning. XD

“S-E-KK-O B-O-Y-S. SEKKO!”

Did you watch any of these last season? Which was your favorite? Did I miss any worth watching? Got any short recommendations in general you think I might like?

~Jamie

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruki says:

    I tried to watch Sekkou Boys, but it was so stupid it made me cringe.
    However, Oshiete Galko-chan was pretty entertaining, not gonna lie. And I think that those bright colored low budget backgrounds fitted the series so well.
    But now, thanks to you, I wanna watch Mahou Shoujo Nante Mou Ii Desukara. Sounds randomly fun. XDD

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      LOL! XD
      YES the bright colors were awesome! And I’m so glad someone else enjoyed Galko-chan. XD I enjoyed it too much quite honestly. XD
      AWWWWWW I hope you enjoy the magical girl show!!! It was stupidly cute, I enjoyed it more than I thought I would! XD
      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mikoto0208 says:

    ahahaha rainbow days is brilliant xD i have a thing for animes with guy friends being guy friends. always good entertainment :3

    Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

