Ongoing || Spring 2016 Reactions: Part 2

spring 2016 line 2

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable. I LOVE THIS SHOW SO MUCH YOU GUYS. WHY IS IT SO UNDERAPPRECIATED IN THE WEST?!?! Diamond is Unbreakable brings a new set of characters to the JoJo universe and I love everyone already; even Joturo from the last arc is more likable. There’s also been some fresh, very unique takes on Stands and their powers this arc, which I appreciate. It has all been riveting and just plain fun to watch so far! If you’ve not seen JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure yet, I highly recommend you begin with the first arc Phantom Blood and try it out; it’s an excellent parody on shounen action but with actual, deep characters you can really root for. Also it’s just insanely wacky and colorful and unique; what’s not to love?!

Kabenari of the Iron Fortress. I had high hopes for Kabenari at the beginning of the season; zombie action, gorgeous quality animation, high suspense, intriguing characters. But the story the past few episodes has gone a political direction I just haven’t found interesting, and I’m currently a little disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still been one of the best shows of the season, but unless it pulls its act together, it will probably fall to the middle of the pack, since there are several slice of life shows that have been stronger this season. Which is a shame, because this could easily have been the next, better, Attack on Titan. But fingers crossed! I’ll have to watch yesterday’s episode at some point and see if it gets better.

Kagewani: Shou. This is the sequel to the horror monster short, Kagewani, so of course I’m watching it. We’ve gotten more back story and information on the kagewani in this season, with less focus on the “monster of the week” the first season had. I think I enjoyed the first season a tad more, but this is still an excellent short series!

Kumamiko: Girl Meets Bear. This freaking show is so freaking cute and charming, I can’t take it. ❤ This is a comedy/slice-of-life/coming-of-age tale and one of the best of the season! I have a love for big talking creatures (think Sully from Monsters Inc or Chewbacca from Star Wars, who doesn’t really talk but you know what I mean.) Natsu the bear is that kind of character, so I absolutely love him. And young Machi steals my heart every episode. The show is funny and sweet, and actually rather unique for a slice of life show–at least from what I can tell. I can’t say enough good things about this show. It simply stole my heart. ❤

My Hero Academia. This show has been loosing my interest as of late, although I do enjoy superhero tales quite a lot. I’m actually really not sure why I’m getting bored with this show as my best friend is still loving it. I might just be tired due to life, of maybe it’s from the fact that story seems to have shifted from its heavy focus on the MC’s development to being more about “superhero school life”–somehow I’m just not as interested.

Rainbow Days. This short is nearing its completion; it started to lose me in the middle but things are beginning to resolve some I’m getting pulled back into the bishounen romances again! It’s one of the better shorts out there, a comedy following a group of bishouen’s and the different levels they each have with their own love interest. I’ve stuck with it this long, so I’ll be finishing it up in a few weeks for sure.

Well, have you seen any of these? What are your thoughts on Kabaneri? KumaMiko? Are you a JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure fan? Stick around for the final part later!

~Jamie

*gifs not mine

5 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s cool, we share the exact same thoughts on both Kabaneri and Academia. Though I hate to think it, I’m pretty sure Kabaneri hit its high on episode 6. Everything about the new guy, Mumei’s niisan, is just uber boring. As for Academia, I, too, really enjoyed the journey Izuku took from quirkless to quirky :3, and once class started, my interest really dropped. I doubt the last few episodes of Academia will change much, but hopefully Kabaneri gets back on track!

    Like

    1. Jamie says:

      oh yay, finally someone who agrees with me!! You’re awesome, Taku. But yeah, I hope Kabaneri can pull it together here. It’s hard watching a good show struggle. And OMG. You hit the nail on Hero, like exactly. I pretty much gave up on that show tonight, I just couldn’t get enough mental energy together to keep trying. Oh well. I’ve heard Kiznivar was much better, so I might try picking that up last minute instead. XD
      ~Jamie

      Liked by 1 person

    2. That’s awesome, and yeah, Kiznaiver will most likely be my favorite of the season. I mean, it was my favorite going in, too, so why should that change, haha! Go for it, tag in with all of us!

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Jamie says:

      omg my bf is basically saying that it’s almost the best of the season, that’s kinda making me think I need to watch it LOL. Sakamoto will probably stay my favorite but I really will give Kiznaiver a shot! Thanks!!

      Liked by 1 person

    4. I MUST watch Sakamoto sometime. That and Tanaka. But yeah, he seems pretty on track: Kiznaiver is great so far 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

