The Boy and the Beast || Impressions

 

While visiting my bestest friend James last month, he and I watched The Boy and the Beast together in sub. I’d heard some things about it–that it just didn’t compare to Wolf Children, similar things like that (and to be honest, is that even fair?. WOLF CHILDREN IS WOLF CHILDREN. IT’S TOO GOOD TO BE USED IN COMPARISON TO ANYTHING LOL.)

But I had heard it was good…and I definitely found that to be true! And I highly recommend anyone who loved Mamoru Hosoda’s Wolf Children, Summer Wars, and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, to watch The Boy and the Beast. You get more of that gorgeous animation, that wonderful world building, that fantastical fantasy somehow melding beautifully with reality’s mundane notes. There’s that childhood sweetness blended with pure emotion that just takes everything to that more mature level.

Bakemono no Ko

Fantasy | AdventureAction | Drama 

2015 | 120 minutes | PG-13

“Kyuta slips into an alternate universe where he is raised by a bear-man, Kumatetsu. Kyuta is eventually thrust into an adventure which spans both worlds.” synopsis thanks to google, LOL.

The thing to understand about this film is that it’s not intending to be a grand adventure. It doesn’t try to have a complicated plot. It’s very straightforward. It’s much mor about a young man’s relationship with father figures and coming to age than simple action and adventure. It doesn’t try to be very fancy in terms of themes and messages either. So, don’t expect great plot twists likein  The Girl Who Leapt Through Time or gut-wrenching feels like in Wolf Children. It’s its own story doing its own thing: and to me, it worked with great success! It’s not perfect by a long shot, but no movie is either.

And don’t let that mean to say this film doesn’t have its own emotional punches. I was incredibly moved during moments of this film. That’s why it stands shoulder to shoulder with its siblings in my eyes. Give this film a fair shot; I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

This is very much a simple, coming-of-age story. We watch a young boy learn and grow along side his mentor in a world of animal-headed people which he doesn’t belong in. As he grows, he challenges his own realities and learns to control the darkness within him. We get to experience this boys emotions and confusion and determination as he matures, and it’s a wonderful, simple treat!

One of the truly great elements in this movie is Takagi Masakatsu’s original soundtrack. These songs bring SO MUCH EMOTION to this story. It truly complements the visuals and the story’s flow, making it a true emotional experience. I remember the music especially during the training/passage of time scene, which was also expertly crafted and paced, it just moved my very soul.  I even turned and said to James as we watched, “This is the best training montage I’ve seen in any movie ever. Wow!!” and he agreed with me.

I was completely taken, thanks to the music. It compliments the story so well–making a film that, while it might not be Wolf Children, still an emotionally resilient film in it’s very own right because of the talent and thoughtfulness behind it.

boy and the beast

I won’t ramble on longer. This is merely my impression of the film, as I definitely wanted to recommend to any one interested with my full thumbs up. It was a gorgeously animated story, emotionally moving with excellent music and enjoyable characters. I highly recommend it to anime fans in general, especially fans of the creator’s past works.

If you’ve seen this movie, what were your thoughts of it?

~Jamie

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. insightblue says:

    I loved this movie! I cried at the end. I have not seen any of Mamoru Hosoda’s other films, but I heard how great they were, so I wanted to see this when it was in theaters. I just bought this on dvd as well, and I plan to collect his other movies now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      I’m so happy you loved this movie!! It was wonderful wasn’t it!! And yes, you should LOVE Hosoda’s over films!! I highly recommend all of them. Summer Wars I don’t remember as well as I saw it only once about two years ago…but I still remember it being very enjoyable! Wolf Children is my favorite I think….THE FEELS. XD Hope you can see them soon! 😀

      Like

  2. Ruki says:

    At first, everybody was meh about this movie, but now I hear more and more saying good stuff. Definitely gonna give it a watch soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      I heard some people saying the same thing before I saw it–not sure why, honestly. I adjusted my expectations and ended up really enjoying it and even being surprised! I hope you enjoy it when you see it too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ladyelasa says:

    I saw the manga in Barnes and Noble not long ago and I immediately became curious about it. I have to see this now. XD

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. Having only read impressions like yours, I think this is one Hosoda’s simpler films. But, simple can still be a rewarding experience. Not every show or film needs fancy plot twists or extravagant set up. Sometimes all we need is an honest movie where the emotions are raw and straightforward. Or at least, that is what I’ve gathered. I plan to pick it up after I buy literally EVERY SINGLE OTHER show that’s coming out this summer/fall LOL That summery by Google tho, haha! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jamie says:

      You hit the nail on the head. Simple can definitely be a very rewarding experience! I think you’ll really enjoy this one when you see it! And ROFL! Enjoy all those anime shows!! XD

      Liked by 1 person

  5. sehrish says:

    Hi there! I loved this movie as much as you did. Pls do check out my post on wolf children, I’m sure you’ll love it! Don’t forget to follow, gosh I love anime lovers.

    Like

Anime is awesome! Talk to me about it! :)

